Asia Cup 2022 India Squad Player List, Injury News & More Updates.

Asia Cup 2022 India Squad Player List, Injury News & More Updates.

Team India announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2022 on Monday. The team will be led by Rohit Sharma.

Jasprit Bumrah misses out because of a back injury and this has resulted in the selections of Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh who featured against the West Indies recently. Bumrah will be undergoing rehabilitation at the NCA in Bengaluru along with Harshal Patel who has also been omitted due to injury.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul return to the side while Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda and Dinesh Karthik have also been included to shore up the middle order.

Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravi Bishnoi have been trusted with spin bowling duties. Meanwhile, experienced campaigner Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be partnering Arshdeep and Avesh in the pace attack.

There are no spots for Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar in the main squad but they have been included as backup players for the Asia Cup campaign.

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will be held in United Arab Emirates after Sri Lanka had to give up their hosting rights because of the political and economic turmoil in the country. The Asia Cup is all set to begin on August 27 and India’s first match in the tournament will be played against Pakistan on August 28.

India are the defending champions after winning the Asia Cup in 2018 which was also held in UAE. That tournament, however, was in the 50-over format while this one will comprise 20 overs ahead of the T20 World Cup later this year. The Men in Blue are also the most successful side in Asia Cup history, having won the trophy a record seven times.

Full Team India squad: 

  • Rohit Sharma (C)
  • KL Rahul (VC)
  • Virat Kohli
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Rishabh Pant (WK)
  • Deepak Hooda
  • Dinesh Karthik (WK)
  • Hardik Pandya
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Yuzvendra Chahal
  • Ravi Bishnoi
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Avesh Khan

NOTE: Kindly Join Our Telegram Channel For Daily Free Fantasy Teams & News

Leave a Comment